Construction & Infrastructure

Electrified construction

Based on the Liebherr design language of the diesel-driven rotary drilling machines, the theme of electromobility was approached from a new angle. The LB 16 unplugged is the first of a new generation of battery-driven, emission-free rotary drilling machines in the world.

Challenge

Based on the existing design, the theme of electromobility was given a tangible form in just a short space of time and a design concept for the machine and HMI was developed that communicates the pioneering local zero emission technology. The interplay of dynamics, performance and e-mobility is what makes the LB 16 stand out. These values could be harmoniously implemented in the design.   

Solution

With a 10-hour run time, the LB 16 unplugged is also the highest performing battery-driven rotary drilling machine. The high performance of the electric solution is communicated via the dynamically designed hood, which offers an elegant analogy to the Power Tools batteries. The battery cladding contains complex radial intersections, which underlines the high level of engineering skill. The charging station area is optimally designed with the user in mind, and enables easy and efficient plug in & plug out.

Our approach

Design

The design concept of the machine and the HMI transports high power performance and supports the decision in favor of pioneering technology.

UX

The new HMI has remained true to the existing operating concept and offers the user the opportunity of remaining in their familiar environment. 

Technology

The redesigned, uncluttered process screens make handling easier for the operator and reflect the theme of electromobility.

Benefit

The LB 16 unplugged is emission-free and counteracts particulate and noise pollution. The newly developed rotary drilling machine is setting standards for operator- and environmentally friendly use on construction sites.

«Good design is not a balancing act between form and function; it is a symbiosis between the two.»

Alfred Koller, Division Head
Construction of special civil engineering machines

Alfred Koller

Bau & Infrastruktur

Bau elektrifiziert

Aufbauend auf der Liebherr Designsprache der dieselbetriebenen Drehbohrgeräte wurde das Thema Elektromobilität neu gedacht. Mit dem LB 16 unplugged ist der weltweit erste Vertreter einer neuen Generation von akkubetriebenen, emissionsfreien Drehbohrgeräten entwickelt worden

Challenge

Auf Basis des bestehenden Designs, wurde in sehr kurzer Zeit das Thema Elektromobilität greifbar gemacht und ein Designkonzept für Maschine und HMI entwickelt, welches die zukunftweisende Technologie “local zero emission“ transportiert. Das Zusammenspiel von Dynamik, Performance und E-Mobilität macht den Charakter des LB 16 unplugged aus. Diese Werte konnten harmonisch im Design umgesetzt werden.   

Solution

Mit 10 Stunden Laufzeit ist das LB 16 unplugged auch das leistungsstärkste akkubetriebene Drehbohrgerät. Die hohe Performance der Elektrolösung wird über die dynamisch gestaltete Hutze kommuniziert - eine schöne Analogie zu den Akkus von Power Tools. Die Akkuverkleidung beinhaltet komplexe Radienverscheidungen, was die hohe Ingenieurskunst unterstützt. Der Bereich der Ladestation ist optimal auf den Bediener konzipiert und ermöglicht ein leichtes und effizientes „plug in & plug out“

Unser Ansatz

Design

Das Designkonzept von Maschine und HMI transportiert hohe Leistungsperformance und unterstützt die Entscheidung für eine zukunftsweisende Technologie.

UX

Die neue HMI ist dem bestehenden Bedienkonzept treu geblieben und gibt dem User die Möglichkeit, sich in seiner gewohnten Umgebung vorzufinden. 

Technologie

Die überarbeiteten und aufgeräumten Prozess-Screens vereinfachen das Handling für den Bediener und spiegeln das Thema Elektromobilität wider.

Benefit

Das LB 16 unplugged läuft emissionsfrei und wirkt Feinstaubbelastung sowie Lärmbelästigung entgegen. Das neu entwickelte Drehbohrgerät setzt damit Standards für eine bediener- und umweltfreundliche Anwendung im Baustellenbetrieb.

«Gutes Design ist keine Gratwanderung zwischen Form und Funktion, es ist eine Symbiose.»

Alfred Koller, Abteilungsleiter
Konstruktion Spezialtiefbaugeräte